

# SURFER Big Wave Challenge Names 2024 Finalists Ahead of Live Awards Show in Portugal

## October 14, 2024

Categories include Men's and Women's Ride of the Year, Biggest Wave, Wipeout of the Year and Surfer of the Year – all to be awarded October 19, 2024, in Nazaré, Portugal

NEW YORK--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Oct. 14, 2024-- The <u>SURFER</u> Big Wave Challenge – a yearlong, international surfing competition to ride and document the world's biggest waves – is nearly complete. The winners will be crowned this week in Nazaré, Portugal, home to the world's biggest wave. For over two decades, the Big Wave Challenge (formerly the XXL Big Wave Awards) has celebrated the international hunt to ride the biggest waves of the year.

This press release features multimedia. View the full release here: https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20241014143991/en/

#### 1

SURFER and Big Wave Challenge Name 2024 Finalists (Photo: Business Wire)

will award a total of \$160,000 in prize money - the largest purse in big-wave surfing this year.

The event will be livestreamed on October 19, 2024, at <u>www.surfer.com</u> and on <u>EUEL\_TV</u>. The broadcast is scheduled to go live at 4:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM PDT.

#### See Sizzle Video Here

## Broadcast B-Roll Video and Photos Here

The SURFER Big Wave Challenge is a tribute to the surfers, photographers and videographers who put it all on the line to challenge themselves and chase the dream of riding the world's biggest waves. With both online content and the live awards presentation, it celebrates the hard work, dedication and commitment on both sides of the camera.

"Big-wave surfing is impossible to put in a box, and for going on 25 years now, the platform that Bill Sharp has created has showcased the most heartpounding moments in the history of the sport," said SURFER Editor-in-Chief, Jake Howard. "From world records being broken to wipeouts that defy the imagination, surfing doesn't get any more radical than this. And to be able to elevate what these surfers and filmers do, it's an honor for SURFER to be involved."

The nominee categories include: Men's and Women's Ride of the Year, Biggest Wave and Paddle of the Year, as well as Wipeout of the Year (presented by Aguamar) and Men's and Women's Surfer of the Year. Click here for the full list of nominees.

"I'm truly stoked to be able to once again award trophies and some cash to the sport's top performers," said event founder and organizer Bill Sharp. "Having this year's wildest moments posted on SURFER throughout the year – almost in real time – has made this extra special. All of our nominees will be in attendance as will a great list of current and former big-wave surfers, water safety legends, filmers, photographers and more."

SURFER, owned by The Arena Group, was originally published in 1960. This year, the brand made several announcements including hiring Jake Howard as the new editor-in-chief, dropping a special print edition in July and completely updating and re-launching <u>www.surfer.com</u>.

### THE 2024 BIG WAVE CHALLENGE NOMINEES

#### MEN'S RIDE OF THE YEAR

Soli Bailey (Australia) at Cloudbreak, Fiji. Nathan Florence (Hawaii, USA) at Mullaghmore Head, Ireland. Albee Layer (Hawaii, USA) at Jaws, Maui, Hawaii.

## WOMEN'S RIDE OF THE YEAR

Laura Enever (Australia) at Shipstern Bluff, Tasmania. Laura Enever (Australia) at Teahupoo Tahiti. Bianca Valenti (California, USA) at Puerto Escondido, Mexico.

### MEN'S BIGGEST WAVE

Lucas Chianca (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) at Nazaré, Portugal. (Two rides) Steve Roberson (Hawaii, USA) at Jaws, Maui, Hawaii.

#### WOMEN'S BIGGEST WAVE

Joana Andrade (Portugal) at Nazaré, Portugal. Michelle Des Bouillons (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) at Nazaré, Portugal. Created in 2000 by Bill Sharp, co-producer of HBO's "100 Foot Wave," it is one of the most recognized competitions in all of surfing. This year's SURFER Big Wave Challenge, presented by <u>5-hour ENERGY</u>,

#### Laura Lou Crane (United Kingdom) at Nazaré, Portugal.

#### **MEN'S PADDLE**

Grant Baker (South Africa) at Dungeons, South Africa. Jojo Roper (California, USA) at Mavericks, California. Alo Slebir (California, USA) at Mavericks, California.

### WOMEN'S PADDLE

Domi Charrier (Chile) at Punta de Lobos, Chile. Corrie Gray (Hawaii, USA) at Waimea Bay, Hawaii. Katie McConnell (California, USA) at Todos Santos, Mexico.

## WIPEOUT OF THE YEAR presented by Aquamar

Kipp Caddy (Australia) at Shipstern Bluff. Trevor Carlson (Hawaii, USA) at Mavericks, California. Bianca Valenti (California, USA) at Mavericks, California.

## **MEN'S SURFER OF THE YEAR**

Lucas Chianca (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) Nathan Florence (Haleiwa, Hawaii, USA) Jojo Roper (San Diego, California, USA)

## WOMEN'S SURFER OF THE YEAR

Laura Enever (Sydney, NSW, Australia) Katie McConnell (Encinitas, California, USA) Bianca Valenti (Mill Valley, California, USA)

#### About The Arena Group

The Arena Group (NYSE American: AREN) is an innovative technology platform and media company with a proven cutting-edge playbook that transforms media brands. Our unified technology platform empowers creators and publishers with tools to publish and monetize their content, while also leveraging quality journalism of anchor brands like TheStreet, Parade, Men's Journal, Surfer, Powder and Athlon Sports to build their businesses. The company aggregates content across a diverse portfolio of over 265 brands, reaching over 100 million users monthly. Visit us at <u>thearenagroup.net</u> and discover how we are revolutionizing the world of digital media.

View source version on businesswire.com: https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20241014143991/en/

For photos, video or more information please contact Steve Janisse: <u>c-sjanisse@thearenagroup.net</u> 404-574-9206

Source: The Arena Group